Al Gore supports gay marriage. Now he does. Whether he disagreed with (Bill) Clinton’s position when they were serving together and was being a good vp or whether he’s changed his mind, I don’t know. I’m glad of it either way. Gay marriage may not be the most pressing social crisis in the queer community, but it has vast symbolic value, and I think that is why it’s such a hot topic.

Regardless, this recent announcement does remind me how terrifyingly difficult it is to serve as a leader and maintain one’s integrity. He’s been much more able to speak freely since he stepped sideways out of regular politics and into what might be called celebrity activism. There are kinds of activism that only famous people can do effectively. I think he’s found a niche, and is very effective there.

Just saying.

