In my ongoing explorations of the variations of plain dress and sustainable clothing, I ran across Plainly Pagan, the blog of a pagan growing into her Quakerness. It’s beautifully written, well thought-out, and important theology. Important because it transcends traditional boundaries, important because it is grounded in daily life, and important because it is clear-eyed in all her confusion. In one of her posts she specifically mentions UUs to say,

I realized this week that one of the reasons I could not feel at home in the Unitarian Universalist churches I have visited was in part because I was there only as a body in the seat. I cannot be a passive participant. I am a preacher’s kid and trained to that lifestyle. Religion was not something we did on Sundays. Religion was the essence of who we were. It was the breath in us. So I can’t just “go to church.” To sit there and listen to a sermon is nothing but a lukewarm version of the vibrant spark of my childhood religious experience.

And so I come to sit among Friends. I came because if I could not be the minister (and I cannot) I wanted to be one of them. I did not want to sit among people going through the motions. I wanted to feel energy crackle around me. I wanted to be surrounded by people whose spiritual voices were deep, resounding, vibrant, electric, devestating. I wanted the hard work. I need the hard work.

I think it’s a fair critique. While we cannot be all things to all people, should not our faith be a living, breathing thing in our lives and in our worship?

And so I ask: what can we do to develop spiritual voices that are deep, resounding, vibrant–how can we live our faith, and live it all the time, even–especially–in church?

