One of the spiritual practices I return to often is a gratitude practice. List 50 things that I’m grateful for, every morning. It can repeat from day to day. It can be anything. The point is, 50 things. The point is, a few minutes spent in gratitude.

Today I am grateful for
the sun
the love I receive
spring
my able-body
my able-mind
freedom
the sweetness of dogs
the leaping-greenly spirits of trees
my connection to the earth
my sense of the holy in the world
years of experience in youth group in church
hugs
touch
sex and sexuality
the roof over my head
the food that I eat
the embrace of loving community
my wise and generous colleagues
fresh-baked things
good healthcare
skilled professionals
clean water
clean air
flowers
good surprises
the tastes of things
warm clothes
my tech skills
my educations, all of them
the gods of my Hindu heritage
my mixed background
that I don’t live in a war zone
chocolate (fair trade)
art and artists
creativity
hope
joy
compost
plants that grow on nothing
claws of kittens
fur of kittens
the passage of time
spices
airplanes
walking in the woods
candles
chalices
ritual
the internet
generosity

fifty things. What are yours?

